Profile Picture

Upgrading from VS.Net 2003 to VS.Net 2010 - NEVRON upgrade issue

Posted By Marcus McCallum 7 Years Ago

Upgrading from VS.Net 2003 to VS.Net 2010 - NEVRON upgrade issue

Author
Message
Marcus McCallum
Posted 7 Years Ago
View Quick Profile
Junior Member

Junior Member (22 reputation)Junior Member (22 reputation)Junior Member (22 reputation)Junior Member (22 reputation)Junior Member (22 reputation)Junior Member (22 reputation)Junior Member (22 reputation)Junior Member (22 reputation)Junior Member (22 reputation)

Group: Forum Members
Last Active: 2 Years Ago
Posts: 29, Visits: 61
I understand this is not the most traditional upgrade route, but finances have dictated that this is what we have had to do!

Basically I have a VS.net 2003 program that I upgraded to VS.Net 2010 and it worked fine. Now I have moved machine to a Windows 7. I no longer have the VS.Net 2003 or Nevron equivalent and I am now stuck with the VS.Net 2010 and I have downloaded the evaluation Nevron version.

I am unable to load my main form and I am getting the following error:

Unable to find assembly Nevron.Presentation, Version = 8.19.12

I have that dll for the old version but that does not help when I add that to my reference list.

I know it is a long shot, but anyone any ideas what is going on?

Thanks,

Marcus

Nevron Support
Posted 7 Years Ago
View Quick Profile
Supreme Being

Supreme Being (3,905 reputation)Supreme Being (3,905 reputation)Supreme Being (3,905 reputation)Supreme Being (3,905 reputation)Supreme Being (3,905 reputation)Supreme Being (3,905 reputation)Supreme Being (3,905 reputation)Supreme Being (3,905 reputation)Supreme Being (3,905 reputation)

Group: Forum Members
Last Active: 1 days ago @ 4:40 AM
Posts: 2,879, Visits: 3,044
Hi Marcus,

When do you get the this problem - at run time or compile time? One reason can be if you target .NET framework 4.0 client profile (you need to switch the target framework to .NET 4). Let us know if the problem persists...

Best Regards,
Nevron Support Team



Marcus McCallum
Posted 7 Years Ago
View Quick Profile
Junior Member

Junior Member (22 reputation)Junior Member (22 reputation)Junior Member (22 reputation)Junior Member (22 reputation)Junior Member (22 reputation)Junior Member (22 reputation)Junior Member (22 reputation)Junior Member (22 reputation)Junior Member (22 reputation)

Group: Forum Members
Last Active: 2 Years Ago
Posts: 29, Visits: 61
Hi,

I get the error when I load the VS.Net solution, so it means I can not even see the designer side of the form.

How do I switch the target framework?

Thanks,

Marcus

Nevron Support
Posted 7 Years Ago
View Quick Profile
Supreme Being

Supreme Being (3,905 reputation)Supreme Being (3,905 reputation)Supreme Being (3,905 reputation)Supreme Being (3,905 reputation)Supreme Being (3,905 reputation)Supreme Being (3,905 reputation)Supreme Being (3,905 reputation)Supreme Being (3,905 reputation)Supreme Being (3,905 reputation)

Group: Forum Members
Last Active: 1 days ago @ 4:40 AM
Posts: 2,879, Visits: 3,044
Hi Marcus,

From solution explorer, right click on the project and show properties. On the application tab choose ".NET framework 4" from the Target framework.

Best Regards,
Nevron Support Team



Marcus McCallum
Posted 7 Years Ago
View Quick Profile
Junior Member

Junior Member (22 reputation)Junior Member (22 reputation)Junior Member (22 reputation)Junior Member (22 reputation)Junior Member (22 reputation)Junior Member (22 reputation)Junior Member (22 reputation)Junior Member (22 reputation)Junior Member (22 reputation)

Group: Forum Members
Last Active: 2 Years Ago
Posts: 29, Visits: 61
Hi,

I can get the solution to open now, but only when I add in the VS.Net 2003 Nevron DLL's (i.e 8.1.9.12) into the reference list and remove the new ones

Question I have now is how do I now upgrade to the most recent version?


I have now moved over to .NET framework 4.0 as well if that helps.

Any ideas?

Thanks,

Marcus

Marcus McCallum
Posted 7 Years Ago
View Quick Profile
Junior Member

Junior Member (22 reputation)Junior Member (22 reputation)Junior Member (22 reputation)Junior Member (22 reputation)Junior Member (22 reputation)Junior Member (22 reputation)Junior Member (22 reputation)Junior Member (22 reputation)Junior Member (22 reputation)

Group: Forum Members
Last Active: 2 Years Ago
Posts: 29, Visits: 61
This is the error that I am getting:

Error 10 Invalid Resx file. Could not load type Nevron.UI.WinForm.Controls.NUIPalette, Nevron.Presentation, Version=8.1.9.12, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=6656c5d1103e75cc which is used in the .RESX file. Ensure that the necessary references have been added to your project. Line 1864, position 5. E:\Marcus\Visual Studio 2010 Projects\AFAA - Defect Assessment - ILI\AFAA - Defect Assessment\Form1.resx 1864 5 AFAA - Defect Assessment Software


Note that this only appears for 4 of my forms, for all the other forms I am able to open them with no problems.

Marcus McCallum
Posted 7 Years Ago
View Quick Profile
Junior Member

Junior Member (22 reputation)Junior Member (22 reputation)Junior Member (22 reputation)Junior Member (22 reputation)Junior Member (22 reputation)Junior Member (22 reputation)Junior Member (22 reputation)Junior Member (22 reputation)Junior Member (22 reputation)

Group: Forum Members
Last Active: 2 Years Ago
Posts: 29, Visits: 61
Having looked at the .resx file, it seems that the problem is to do with the following line:

Me.lstDeterministic.Palette = CType(resources.GetObject("lstDeterministic.Palette"), Nevron.UI.WinForm.Controls.NPalette)

Any ideas?

Thanks
Marcus

Marcus McCallum
Posted 7 Years Ago
View Quick Profile
Junior Member

Junior Member (22 reputation)Junior Member (22 reputation)Junior Member (22 reputation)Junior Member (22 reputation)Junior Member (22 reputation)Junior Member (22 reputation)Junior Member (22 reputation)Junior Member (22 reputation)Junior Member (22 reputation)

Group: Forum Members
Last Active: 2 Years Ago
Posts: 29, Visits: 61
SORTED!!

I created a new listview in a form I could load, assigned the Palette to WindowsDefault. Then I copied the relevant section in the .resx files to all the original .resx files and now I am able to load all the forms up.

Thanks,

Marcus



Similar Topics


Reading This Topic